Skip Navigation


Junior Ranks Awarded Prestigious Flying Scholarships

Published: 01 Mar 2019

Thirty* Junior Ranks from across the country are soaring into the weekend on a high, after hearing the news that they have been selected for the prestigious Junior Rank Pilot Scholarship Scheme (JRPSS).

The RAF Charitable Trust-funded scheme, run by the RAF Flying Clubs' Association (RAFFCA) will enable the thirty to learn about Air Law, Meteorology and Navigation, helping them go from zero flight experience to flying an aircraft solo as pilot in command.

All necessary equipment to undertake the training at selected RAF flying clubs will also be provided through the scholarship, including flying suits and study packs.

Following a recognised syllabus, the training may count towards the award of a Light Aircraft Pilot Licence.

To apply for the scheme, the Junior Ranks had to complete a lengthy online application detailing their knowledge of, and passion for aviation. Within the two-month window, over 200 applied.

Upon completion of the scholarship, candidates can also apply to the prestigious JRPSS Top-Up-Scheme which provides additional funding for a select number of applicants to continue their flying training and gain their Private Pilot's Licence.

JRPSS spokesman Ben said: "This year, we were overwhelmed with the number of applications but these thirty particularly stood out from the crowd - their passion for aviation was undeniable and I think they will really thrive on the scheme".

The JRPSS was launched in 2015 to improve the air-mindedness of Junior Ranks by offering them flying experience and the opportunity to increase their knowledge and understanding of the technologies used in aviation. Last year, the scheme celebrated its 100th scholar.

RAF Charitable Trust Director Justine Morton said: "The JRPSS is a hugely popular initiative that embodies our mission to get young people involved in aviation - each year the 30 successful scholars never cease to impress with their determination to secure a scholarship".

To keep up-to-date on information for next year's scholarship, visit


*The thirty winners are: LAC Moray Austin (RAF Coningsby), CPL Elliot Balfour (RAF Brize Norton), SAC Luke Barratt (RAF Scampton), SAC(T) Jamie Blyth (RAF Lossiemouth), SAC(T) Kyle Buchanan (RAF Benson), SAC Paul Cann (RAF Marham), SAC Max Chester (RAF Scampton), AC Janjilla Chirnside (RAF Boulmer), AC Aiden Coffey (RAF Brize Norton), LAC Thomas Dilworth (RAF Boulmer), SAC James Dodds (RAF Leeming), SAC Emma Horn (RAF Digby), LAC Robert Hopper (RAF Boulmer), SAC Nathan Karamchandani (RAF Scampton), SAC Simon Kelly (RAF Lossiemouth), SAC Guy Knight (RAF Brize Norton), SAC Ryan McDonough (RAF Waddington), SAC Matthew Meikle (RAF Coningsby), SAC Samuel Moore (RAF Marham), SAC Jack Morgan (RAFC Cranwell), Cpl Andrew Murphy (RAF Wyton), SAC Samuel Otoo (RAF Benson), SAC(T) Connor Philips (RAF Marham), SAC(T) James Pyne (RAF Benson), AC Peter Shingler (RAFC Cranwell), SAC(T) Oliver Slough (RAF Coningsby), SAC(T) Ryan Stevens (RAF Odiham), SAC James Thomas (RAF Leeming), SAC Matthew Vose (RAF Brize Norton) and SAC Daniel Weldon (RAF Leeming).

“It was an epic spectacle, as magical as anything you've ever seen in the West End, and as loud as anything you've ever heard at Knebworth.”

Jeremy Clarkson, Television Presenter

“All the thrills, excitement and noise of a Grand Prix, but in the air!”

Jenson Button, Former Formula 1 Racing Driver

“Probably the most complete air show I’ve ever been to!”

Al Worden, Apollo 15 Astronaut

“This is THE best airshow!”

Buzz Aldrin, Apollo 11 Astronaut

“Text TRUST to 70490 to donate £5!”

Texts cost £5 plus one standard rate message