Royal International Air Tattoo award winners revealed

  • 21st Jul 2023

With hundreds of aircraft taking part in this year’s Royal International Air Tattoo, this year’s star performers have been revealed at the event’s annual award ceremony.

Roughly 150,000 visitors attended the event at RAF Fairford at the weekend and during the show, and participants are eligible for a variety of awards, such as the ‘Spirit of the Meet’ Trophy, which is given to the participant embodying the spirit of the Air Tattoo, to the ‘Best Livery’ award for the most eye-catching aircraft which is voted for by FRIAT, the show’s aviation enthusiast supporters club.

Some which are awarded on Friday evening at the Gala Dinner, and others which are presented on the Sunday evening Awards Ceremony. The full list of recipients below:

Presented at the Gala Dinner

The RUAG Trophy (Awarded to the Overall Winner of the Concours d'Elegance)
SIAI-Marchetti U-208A - Italian Air Force

The Northrop Grumman Trophy (Awarded to the Runner-up of the Concours d’Elegance Competition)
Lockheed C-130H Hercules – Royal Jordanian Air Force.

The Boeing Trophy (Awarded to the Concours d'Elegance Best Civilian Aircraft)
Max Holste MH.1521 Broussard - Mr Jason Prior and Mr Phil Hall

The MOOG Trophy (Awarded to the Overall Winner of the Crew Challenge)
NH90 Display Team – German Army.

The Lockheed Martin Trophy (Awarded for the Crew Challenge Runner Up)
Team Tonka – TLG 51 & TLG 33 - German Air Force

The Bluescape Trophy (Awarded for the Crew Challenge Aircraft Recognition Competition)
Team Wings of Valhalla - Swedish Air Force.

The ‘Spirit of the Meet’ Trophy (Awarded to the participant embodying the spirit of the Air Tattoo)
The Italian Air Force & Italian Historic Aircraft Group

Presented at the Flying Display Awards Ceremony

The Paul Bowen Trophy (in memory of RIAT’s co-founder for the Best Solo Jet Demonstration)
SAAB Gripen E flown by André Brännström.


The Sir Douglas Bader Trophy (Best Individual Flying Display)

French Air Force Rafale Solo Display, flown by Capitaine Bertrand "Bubu" Butin.


The RAFCTE Trophy (Best Flying Demonstration by an Overseas Participant)
Italian Army A-129 Mangusta, with the crews from the 5th Aviation Regiment.


The Steedman Display Sword (British participant with the most notable contribution to RIAT)
RAF Typhoon Display flown by Flight Lieutenant Matt Brighty.


The As the Crow Flies Trophy (Best Overall Flying Demonstration, judged by FRIAT),
French Air Force Rafale Solo Display, flown by Capitaine Bertrand "Bubu" Butin.


The Best Livery Trophy (Best Special Paint Scheme, judged by FRIAT),
“Eagle Star” livery Eurofighter Typhoon, Tactical Air Wing 73, German Air Force


The King Hussein Memorial Sword (Most Polished & Precise Flying Display)
Swedish Air Force SAAB SK.60 flown by Captain Nils Schylström.